View Issue Details

IDProjectCategoryView StatusLast Update
0014646ScribusUser Interfacepublic2017-03-02 07:33
Reporterchristoph_s Assigned To 
PrioritynormalSeverityminorReproducibilityalways
Status newResolutionopen 
Platformx86 64OSWindows OS Version10
Product Version1.5.3.svn 
Target VersionFixed in Version 
Summary0014646: "Remove Unused" and "Delete" in Colours & Fills aren't greyed out in the Windows version of 1.5.3svn
DescriptionWith no document open, the option "Remove Unused" in the "Colours & Fills" dialog is rightfully greyed out in the Linux version of 1.5.3svn, but on Windows it's still active. The same goes for "Delete".
TagsNo tags attached.
PatchNo

Activities

jghali

2017-02-27 11:23

administrator   ~0043499

Unable to reproduce.

utnik

2017-02-27 17:20

updater   ~0043500

i can reproduce strange things with 'manage colors and fills' in scribus 1.5.3 under mac os 10.11.6 – but not exactly the same as christoph under windows:

when i open the color editor, all the upper buttons are grayed out. (even 'add' and 'import') – but after clicking on a color entry, most of the buttons become selectable, just 'import' remains grayed out (and doesn't work).

christoph_s

2017-02-28 08:10

administrator  

christoph_s

2017-02-28 08:11

administrator   ~0043511

Jean: This is what I get with 1.53svn on Windows 10 with no document open.

christoph_s

2017-02-28 08:11

administrator   ~0043512

utnik: I already filed another bug for this issue.

jghali

2017-02-28 13:45

administrator   ~0043513

Last edited: 2017-02-28 13:53

View 2 revisions

>> With no document open, the option "Remove Unused" in the "Colours & Fills" dialog is rightfully greyed out in the Linux version of 1.5.3svn

In fact after more investigation, the behavior on Windows is the correct one. If you get this behavior on Linux, it means you probably still have old preferences data pre-dating the scribus/user swatches split: the default colorset was referenced by name before, now Scribus uses full disk path. On a fresh OpenSuse Leap 42.2 install, I get the same behavior than on Windows after fixing my prefs on Windows, ie reselecting explictly my default set in color manager.

christoph_s

2017-03-01 06:48

administrator   ~0043517

No, I didn't have old preferences active on Linux.

Also, the behaviour on Windows is *not* correct. "Remove Unused" refers to colours used in a document. With no document open there can be no "used" or "unused" colours. Likewise, "Delete" doesn't make sense with a protected palette.

jghali

2017-03-01 08:25

administrator   ~0043518

Last edited: 2017-03-01 08:38

View 4 revisions

>> Remove Unused" refers to colours used in a document.

False, it also refers to colors used by gradients when no documents is opened. Because you can now define gradients with no document open.

>> Likewise, "Delete" doesn't make sense with a protected palette.

No, this is where "user" palettes enter in actions. Modified palette will be saved in "user palettes" directory. A user can hence delete colors, keep the colors he needs, without modifying the original palette. Palette locking also depends if a specific file is writeable or not. So you'll have differences of behavior depending on file system, current user rights, and scribus install location.

christoph_s

2017-03-02 07:33

administrator   ~0043532

>>False, it also refers to colors used by gradients when no documents is opened. Because you can now define gradients with no document open.

Gradients and fill colours aren't identical. Locked colour palettes shouldn't provide an option to delete colours. Moreover, I still insist that "Remove Unused" should be grayed out, because with no document open, there no no way to determine any kind of usage.


>>No, this is where "user" palettes enter in actions. Modified palette will be saved in "user palettes" directory. A user can hence delete colors, keep the colors he needs, without modifying the original palette. Palette locking also depends if a specific file is writeable or not. So you'll have differences of behavior depending on file system, current user rights, and scribus install location.


You're right here, but there is no way a user can determine what is what, because there's no visual feedback. It all happens in the background.

Issue History

Date Modified Username Field Change
2017-02-26 07:34 christoph_s New Issue
2017-02-26 07:34 christoph_s Status new => assigned
2017-02-26 07:34 christoph_s Assigned To => jghali
2017-02-27 11:23 jghali Note Added: 0043499
2017-02-27 17:20 utnik Note Added: 0043500
2017-02-28 08:10 christoph_s File Added: colours-fills-153-win10.png
2017-02-28 08:11 christoph_s Note Added: 0043511
2017-02-28 08:11 christoph_s Note Added: 0043512
2017-02-28 13:45 jghali Note Added: 0043513
2017-02-28 13:53 jghali Note Edited: 0043513 View Revisions
2017-03-01 06:48 christoph_s Note Added: 0043517
2017-03-01 08:25 jghali Note Added: 0043518
2017-03-01 08:38 jghali Note Edited: 0043518 View Revisions
2017-03-01 08:38 jghali Note Edited: 0043518 View Revisions
2017-03-01 08:38 jghali Note Edited: 0043518 View Revisions
2017-03-01 10:14 jghali Assigned To jghali =>
2017-03-01 10:14 jghali Status assigned => new
2017-03-02 07:33 christoph_s Note Added: 0043532